Home arrow Events arrow WWECs arrow World Wind Energy Award 2009 goes to George Smitherman, Energy Minister of Ontario
Font size:  A+  |  A-  |  Reset
Small Wind Platform
Wind Energy Technology
Who's Online
We have 172 guests online
Login Form
Here you can enter your username and password in order to access into the site.

Lost Password?

WWEA Head Office

Charles-de-Gaulle-Str. 5
53113 Bonn
Tel.: +49 228 369 40 80
Fax: +49 228 369 40 84
World Wind Energy Award 2009 goes to George Smitherman, Energy Minister of Ontario PDF Print E-mail
Wednesday, 24 June 2009

Honorary Award for Governor of Jeju Province, Mr Kim Tae Hwan

Jeju/Bonn (WWEA) – On the occasion of the 8th World Wind Energy Conference 2009 on Jeju island, Korea, the Board of the World Wind Energy Association has decided to give the World Wind Energy Award 2009 to the Hon. George Smitherman, Deputy Premier and Minister of Energy and Infrastructure of Ontario, largest Province of Canada.

The World Wind Energy Award has been given for Minister Smitherman’s outstanding achievements in making Ontario the leading wind energy jurisdiction in North America. Under his political responsibility and leadership in the Ministry of Energy and Infrastructure, the Green Energy and Economy Act was initiated and adopted as a decisive step in establishing a strong domestic wind and renewable energy industry in Ontario. Building on his first public speech as newly appointed Energy Minister during the WWEC2008, the adoption was made less than a year after Minister Smitherman took office.

The act will contribute to making the province a green leader in North America and worldwide supporting the Ontario government’s goal to become a leader in innovation and to create at least 50’000 well paid, skilled green-collar jobs.

WWEA sees the creation and implementation of the Green Energy and Economy Act as an excellent example of how North America can introduce wind energy on a broad basis and on a large scale.

A fixed feed-in tariff guaranteed for a fixed period of time has already helped especially several European countries such as Denmark, Germany and Spain to boost their national wind industry. Ontario is the first province in North America which has set up regulations that are following these successful principles, and it can already been watched that other provinces and US states are planning to follow this great example.

An important part of the Green Energy and Economy Act is the explicit recognition and empowerment of community power, that is individual citizens, municipalities, cooperatives, farmers and aboriginal communities. For these investors, a special premium will be provided.

WWEA hopes and expects that the World Wind Energy Award 2009 will encourage the Government of Ontario to continue pursuing its goal to become North America’s leader in innovation and renewable energy development. The worldwide wind community hopes that other governments in the region and worldwide feel encouraged by the progress in Ontario and will set up similar frameworks, learning from the vast experiences already made.

Looking to the devotion of the awarded person to the greening of the energy supply and economy, I have to emphasise again that we are very proud today that we can present his name for of the World Wind Energy Award 2009 for Outstanding Achievements for Wind Energy Dissemination through the Green Energy and Economy Act. Mr

Mr Kim Tae Hwan, Governor of Jeju Special Self-Governing Province, received the World Wind Energy Honorary Award 2009 for the great support the Province gave to making WWEC 2009 a success with 500 participants from 40 countries.

World Wind Energy Award

The World Wind Energy Award is an award given once every year to personalities who have contributed extraordinarily to the worldwide proliferation of wind energy utilisation. The previous World Wind Energy Awards were given to:

2002: Prof Dr Amin Mobarak, Chairman of the Industry and Energy Committee of the Egyptian Parliament;
2003: the Indian wind turbine manufacturer Suzlon under the leadership of Mr Tulsi Tanti;
2004 jointly to: the German Minister for the Environment, the Hon Jürgen Trittin, and the German Parliamentarian Dr Hermann Scheer;
2005 jointly to: the Hon. Vilas Muttemwar, Indian Minister for Non-Conventional Energy Sources, and Dr Pramod Deo, Chairman of the Maharashtra Electricity Regulatory Commission;
2006: the Chinese wind turbine manufacturer Goldwind under the leadership of Mr Wu Gang;
2007 jointly to: the Hon. Ms Dilma Vana Rousseff, Chief of Staff Minister of Brazil and former Minister for Mines and Energy, Ms Laura Porto, Director of the Department of Renewable Energy of the Ministry of Mines and Energ, Mr Valter Luiz Cardeal, Director of Engineering and current President of Eletrobrás, Dr. Sebastião Florentino da Silva, Coordinator of the Unity of the Proinfa Programme at Eletrobrás;
2008 jointly to: Jane Kruse, and Dr Preben Maegaard, Denmark, Paul Gipe, USA.

< Prev   Next >
Outstanding Content

Find us on Facebook




Wind Energy International 2014/2015 (Available now!)








Order it Now!!


2013 Small Wind World Report Update

Table of Contents of the Full Report

 10 years of the WWEA

10 years of the WWEA

WWEA's Interactive World Map

WWEA's Interactive Map


WWEA - World Wind Energy Association. Copyright © 2006 by WWEA. All rights reserved.